On my mind – Jack, Planet Narnia (Sol), and poetry. (Thank you, Mr. Ward for sharing Jack)


A Pageant Played in Vain 

 

Watching the thought that moves

Within my conscient brain,

I learn how often that appearance proves

A pageant played in vain

 

Holding what seems the helm,

I make a show to steer,

But winds, for worse and better, overwhelm

My purpose, and I veer

 

Thus, if thy guidance reach

Only my head, then all

Hardest attempt of mine serves but to teach

How oddly the dice fall

 

To limbs, and loins, and heart,

Search with thy chemic beam,

Strike where the self I know lives apart,

Beneath the surface dream

 

Break, Sun, my crusted earth

Pierce, razor-edged, within,

Where blind, immortal metals have their birth,

And crystals clear begin

 

Thy spirit in secret flows

About our lives, in gloom,

The mother helping not nor hindering, grows

The child within the womb

 

~ CS Lewis

Share your thoughts

